Frequently Asked Questions

Authentication Questions

General Questions

Twitter Specific Questions

Gold & Business Membership Questions



Can you see my password?

No. We encrypt your password so no one, not even us, can see it.


I forgot my password. How do I reset it?

If you forgot your password, head to our "forgot password" page, enter you login email and we'll send you a link to reset your password.

Never want to forgot a password again? We recommend using 1Password to manage all of your logins.


When I link a Twitter, Tumblr, or Instagram account to Friend or Follow is my password exposed?

No. We never see your password. OAuth allows you to approve Friend or Follow to work with your Twitter, Tumblr, or Instagram account without sharing your password. You can read more about Twitter and OAuth here.


When I link a Twitter account to Friend or Follow it says I'm giving you permission to "update my profile" and "post tweets." Why do you request permission to do that?

There are only 3 permission models for the Twitter API:

  • Read
  • Read, Write
  • Read, Write, and Direct Messages

We have to request “Read, Write” permission in order to give you a functional “Follow/UnFollow” button.

We never ever tweet, post, or update your profile without your explicit permission.


I don't see Twitter / Instagram / Tumblr "sign in" or "link account" buttons. Why are they missing?

Services such as AdBlock have options to block "social logins" or "social media buttons." These settings can remove similar buttons from Friend or Follow, effectively breaking functionality. We recommend "whitelisting" FriendOrFollow.com in your ad blocking software. Alternatively, you can temporarily pause blocking or fine tune your ad blocking software settings.


How can I delete my account?

If you'd like to delete your Friend or Follow account, please sign in and click the "delete" button at the bottom of your settings page.


Does Friend or Follow ever automatically post anything to my time-line?

We never ever tweet, post, or update your profile without your explicit permission.


Why do I see suspended or nonexistent Twitter accounts listed in my Friend or Follow results?

There is a known bug in Twitter's API where Twitter occasionally returns accounts that have been suspended or otherwise removed from Twitter. You can view the bug report on Twitter's API Issue Tracker. If you're experiencing this bug, please email us to let us know. (Be sure to include your Twitter handle.) You can also "star" the issue on Twitter's API Issue Tracker to let Twitter know this bug is important.


Friend or Follow says someone is not following me back but I don't see them in the results?

This is the same Twitter API bug that causes this issue: Why do I see suspended or nonexistent accounts listed in my Friend or Follow results?


How do I cancel my Gold or Business membership?

You can cancel your membership anytime by signing in to your Friend or Follow account, going to your "Settings" page (found in the upper right hand navigation bar), and changing your membership back to the "Free" plan.


How do I change the credit card associated with my account?

You can change the credit card on your account by signing in to your Gold account, going to your "Settings" page (found in the upper right hand navigation bar), and clicking on the "Update my credit card on file" link.


How will the Gold or Business membership appear on my bank statement?

Friend of Follow membership charges will likely appear on your bank statement as a charge from "Floating Head Studios." Friend or Follow is a product of "Floating Head Studios."


How do you send invoices? Can I see a sample invoice?

We email you a statement every month when we renew your membership. The email is sent to the email address we have on file for your account. This is typically the same email address you use to login.

You can view an example statement here.


Can we get a refund?

We offer a 30 day, no questions asked, money back guarantee.

You are responsible for all charges beyond 30 days. However, once you cancel you will never be charged again. We don’t have long-term contracts, lock-in, signup, or termination fees. Just pay as you go and cancel when you’re done.


Do you accept PayPal?

Currently, no. Our payment processor doesn't work with PayPal. However, we do accept PayPal debit cards, and PayPal credit cards.


I signed up for a Gold or Business trial, why is there a $1 pending transaction on my card?

The $1 pending transaction on your credit card is a card authorization check. Our payment processor sometimes does this to make sure your card is valid. It is not a fee and it will soon disappear from your pending transactions.


I have questions about my Gold or Business membership. Who can I contact?

Email support@friendorfollow.com. Usually we're able to answer emails the same day we receive them. However, please allow for up to two business days for a reply.